51° 48.321′ N, 008° 17.988′ W
Crosshaven, village of redheads is very accessible and only 25km from Cork city centre. There is a regular bus service (number 222) to and from the city.
Crosshaven is also within easy reach of Cork International Airport (17km) and Ringaskiddy Ferry Terminal (12 km).
Crosshaven, in Irish Bun an Tábhairne which means “the low-land of the tavern” or “Ale-House hollow”, is a picturesque village nestled on the hillside at the mouth of the Owenboy River and overlooking the wooded headland of Currabinny.
Originally a fishing village, it was described in Lewis’s 1837 Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, Crosshaven “comprises about 100 houses, which are small, but well built; and is one of the eight coast-guard stations in the district of Cobh. Crosshaven House, the residence of T. Hayes, Esq.; Camden Fort and several handsome villas and lodges, the summer residences of those who visit the coast for sea-bathing, closely adjoin the village. An extensive fishery was formerly carried on, but it has so much declined that only five small vessels remain“. Apart for the impact of leisure sailing, Crosshaven has changed very little over the centuries and preserves a wonderful sense of quiet repose.
This quiet demeanour makes Crosshaven an unexpected location to host the oldest sailing club in the world. The Royal Cork Yacht Club (RCYC) holds the title of the world’s oldest sailing club as noted in the Guinness Book of World Records.
The Royal Cork Yacht Club (RCYC) has not only made Crosshaven world famous for its sailing past but it has also contributed to making it a venue for world-class championship sailing events. The most significant amongst these is the biannual Regatta of Cork Week, held in July of alternate (even-numbered) years. It is rated as one of the most enjoyable regattas in the world and attracts participants from all over the world.
The village of Crosshaven remains a very attractive destination as a result of its resources and natural beauty. There are four colour coded walking routes in the immediate locality that never stray far from the village itself, and which incorporate beautiful views and historical landmarks. For people prepared to stride out a network of roads lead from the village to a series of small bays with bathing nooks and fine coastal scenery, which offer beautiful walks with sea, river and land views. Myrtleville, which has a particularly family friendly sandy beach, scenic Church Bay at Weaver’s Point, Fennell’s Bay, and Fountainstown are all well worth visiting. Most of these are reasonably close, but can be subject to steep hills that make for a challenging walk or cycle.
A highly rewarding walk is up to Camden Fort Meagher, still referred to by some as Fort Camden, that is passed when entering the harbour. Camden Fort Meagher corresponds with Fort Davis, formally Fort Carlisle, on the other side of the entrance that was one of the earliest bastioned forts in the country. Both these impressive structures are internationally recognised as some of the world’s finest examples of classical coastal artillery forts. The Fort Meagher site dates from about 1550 and both were handed over to the Irish Army in 1938. In 1989 Cork County Council acquired ownership. The fort is now open to the public on summer weekends with a spectacular panoramic view across the inner harbour.
Visit the Crosshaven Tourism website to find out more information about our beautiful village